JavaScript is either disabled or not supported by your browser !
App for Android
App for iOS
powered by Ulverscroft Digital

Lady Susan/the Watsons/sanditon

These three works - one novel unpublished in her lifetime and two unfinished fragments - reveal Jane Austen's development as a great artist. Lady Susan, with its wicked, beautiful, intelligent and energetic heroine, is a sparkling melodrama in letters that takes its tone from the outspoken and robust 18th century. Written later, and probably abandoned after her father's death, The Watsons is a tantalising and highly delightful story of vitality and optimism which centres on the marital prospects of the Watson sisters in a small provincial town. Sanditon, her last work, left unfinished at her death, is set in a seaside town. Its themes concern the new speculative consumer society and foreshadow the great social upheavals of the Industrial Revolution.

  • Published by Isis Audio
  • Fiction/Non-FictionFiction
  • Genre Classic
  • Target Audience Adult
  • Released 1st November 2016
  • Duration 6 Hrs. 30 Mins.
  • ISBN 9781445061849